Richard Cowart, President of the VEIC Board of Directors, announced today the appointment of three new board members. Colin Owyang, Ellen Zuckerman, and Nick Richardson, will begin their terms as VEIC board members in July 2018.

The VEIC Board provides independent, continuous, and permanent leadership for the organization. The members establish strategies, policies, and priorities in the context of the VEIC mission to enhance the economic, environmental, and societal benefits of clean and efficient energy use for all people.

Colin Owyang has served as Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary at the Vermont Electric Power Company (VELCO) since February 2016. Colin previously served as Deputy Attorney General in Massachusetts and worked for nearly eleven years at National Grid. Along with his strong legal and regulatory background, Owyang brings deep public service experience to the VEIC Board.

Ellen Zuckerman is a leading consultant on energy efficiency who has worked on behalf of clients that include Fortune 100 companies, government entities, large foundations, and nonprofits. She is a Senior Associate at the Southwest Energy Efficiency Project as well as an independent consultant. Zuckerman has a deep technical knowledge of building performance, demand-side management, and energy policy. She brings a dedication to energy affordability to the VEIC Board.

Nick Richardson serves as the President of the Vermont Land Trust, a statewide nonprofit conservation organization. Richardson has had an extensive career in the renewable energy, energy efficiency, and environmental conservation sectors, including a position at VEIC in 2009 managing energy education projects in Vermont schools. He brings an understanding and passion for environmental sustainability and social justice to the VEIC Board.

I am excited to welcome Colin, Ellen, and Nick to our Board of Directors, said Jim Madej, CEO of VEIC. These appointments expand our national presence, while diversifying the experience and knowledge of the Board. They will provide new perspectives and ideas for the organization that I believe will align well with VEIC’s mission, while pushing us to have a greater impact.

The three new appointees will join the existing eight board members—Richard Cowart, Chip Stone, Sue Coakley, Michael Dworkin, John Gilroy, Meg Power, Gus Seelig, and Jim Madej—for their next quarterly meeting in July.

Attn: Mike Haberman
20 Winooski Falls Way
5th Floor
Winooski, VT 05404